Have a Waffle Bar for Your Next Party!

I recently hosted a vintage baby shower, and thought that brunch would be tasty (and who doesn’t like breakfast right?).  So, playing on that, I was trying to come up with something unique and not very costly.  I love all of the “do-it-yourself bars/stations” people are doing now:  burger bars, hot chocolate bars, ice cream station, taco bars, etc… so I thought “why not do a waffle bar?”   It’s easy, tasty and cheap!  And I was sooo right.  In fact, all of the food for the waffle bar and sides only cost $50!  …..and this was to feed 16 people!

 

IMG_3056You will need:

  • Space.  I have a buffet/bar that I usually put all of my food on, but a long table or any kind of rectangle style (good size) table (or even your kitchen counter top) will do.
  • A waffle-maker.  Ok, if you are REALLY good, you could make pancakes on the griddle, but alas, I am not, so I went with my trusty ole waffle-maker.  They are super easy:  You mix up the batter, throw it on the maker, wait 4 minutes and voila: a Belgium style waffle coming your way!  I do have to say however, if you have two, that is even better.  If not, ask around to see if you can borrow one: waffles can be time consuming when making several.
  • Waffle mix and all of the things needed to go in it (eggs, milk, whatever the box says).  Choose your favorite waffle/pancake mix and have at it!
    Alternate option to making waffles if you want to make this SUPER DUPER easy on yourself:  Call in several stacks of pancakes or waffles from your local brunch cafe and pick them up the morning of the party.  Done-zo.
  • The toppings:  Ahhh, this is the fun part.  The possibilities here are endless, but I’ll tell you what I used to give you a good start:
    -Chocolate chips
    -Fresh berries (I used strawberries and blueberries)
    -Cool Whip
    -Nutella (this is a must in my opinion)
    -Maple syrup
    -Powdered Sugar
    -Butter

Some other possibilities could be:

  • Bananas
  • Chocolate syrup
  • Ice cream (oh yes, I went there)
  • Walnuts
  • Caramel sauce
  • Sprinkles
  • Chicken???
  • Peanut butter
  • Honey
  • Crumbled oreos
  • Coconut
  • Any type of fruit you desire

IMG_3058

That’s about it!  The good thing about the waffle bar is that it’s totally up to you on how much you spend and how much food you supply.  You may want to add something salty for a side (eggs, bacon anyone?).

Have any other suggestions?  Let us know below!  Have fun and happy eating!

Leave a comment